Saison Global Balance Fund

Owly

Saison Global Balance Fund

Post by Owly »

Hello everyone,

I was wondering if someone wiser and more experienced than me has used or could give me some advice about this investment.

https://www.saison-am.co.jp/fund/global/

I have been investing in this fund for around 6 years now in an 一般 NISA shell. It used to be called "Vanguard Global Balance Fund" and consisted solely of Vanguard products. Actually I learned of it on this forum - someone suggested it as a possible good choice for beginners who don't know how to create a portfolio. Not sure why the name change - presumably non-Vanguard products are planned for the future.

It has done OK but not amazingly, and recently has lost some value. I've started to wonder whether it's a good choice or not. The fee is a little high at 0.45% and it is also a little bond heavy (I'm in my 40s). Most worryingly, I recently came across the issue of triple taxation, which seems to be an issue with this investment? https://retirewiki.jp/wiki/Japanese_global_index_funds

Should I cut my losses and get out now?
TokyoBoglehead
Veteran

Re: Saison Global Balance Fund

Post by TokyoBoglehead »

Owly wrote: Tue Mar 28, 2023 2:54 am Hello everyone,

I was wondering if someone wiser and more experienced than me has used or could give me some advice about this investment.

https://www.saison-am.co.jp/fund/global/

I have been investing in this fund for around 6 years now in an 一般 NISA shell. It used to be called "Vanguard Global Balance Fund" and consisted solely of Vanguard products. Actually I learned of it on this forum - someone suggested it as a possible good choice for beginners who don't know how to create a portfolio. Not sure why the name change - presumably non-Vanguard products are planned for the future.