Pros and cons of emaxis slim vs vanguard etf

printingmoney

Pros and cons of emaxis slim vs vanguard etf

Post by printingmoney »

Hello all,

I discovered this forum on fb recently and I'm so greatful to have found a space where we can get some investing related questions answered by foreigners like myself living in Japan.

I'm a NON-US national living in Japan and have been investing in vanguard's VTI and VXUS etfs via SBI for a few years. Recently I started studying EMAXIS SLIM all country etf and was wondering which one would be better for a foreigner planning to settle in Japan. Am I right in saying that EMAXIS SLIM all country will reinvest the distributions and hence avoid a taxable event?(are there distributions in the first place?). One of the things I didn't realize unless recently is that my VTI and VXUS dividends are not invested automatically which is not ideal. Also I have been settling the transactions in YEN to avoid FX gain tax. However the dividend itself is paid out in USD which I have been exchanging for yen to buy more of VTI/VXUS. Given all this I'm starting to think maybe I will keep my VTI and VXUS as it is and going forward invest in emaxis slim all country.

Would love to hear what you guys think especially on the grounds of taxation, exchange rate and anything you can think of.

Thank you and warm regards!
zeroshiki
Veteran

Re: Pros and cons of emaxis slim vs vanguard etf

Post by zeroshiki »

The eMaxis Slim most people talk about here is the mutual fund (investment trust) version and not the ETF. Its yen-denominated and has no distributions so its more efficient in that sense (no taxation on dividends for example).

Are you already making use of your NISA and iDeCo? Those are tax free vehicles and considering the idiosyncrasies of it, the eMaxis Slim (and similar funds) are considered ideal for them.
TokyoBoglehead
Veteran

Post by TokyoBoglehead »