Company DC vs Ideco

This is a safe space to ask any questions, no matter how basic.
KevinC

Company DC vs Ideco

Post by KevinC »

Hello All,

I'm still new to this but I've recently been looking into the ideco system and thanks to the Retire Japan guide (highly recommended if your new like me) and the forum I feel much more comfortable and ready to get started as soon as possible.

My company offers a Defined Contribution plan and I've asked my HR team about ideco and my company allows me to do either but not both.

There looks to be pros and cons to the company vs individual DC plans (SBI, Rakuten etc) but I wondered if others have this situation and which they go for?

The company plan looks to have less fund options but does have a higher contribution limit.
RetireJapan
Site Admin

Re: Company DC vs Ideco

Post by RetireJapan »

I would look at the company DC fund fees (are they similar to what you'd get in iDeCo or much more expensive?), and whether your company does any kind of 'matching' of contributions.
English teacher and writer. RetireJapan founder. Avid reader.

eMaxis Slim Shady 8-)
KevinC

Post by KevinC »

Thanks for the quick reply. I'll check to see if I can find out about the fees. Most funds available (domestic and international) are with Sumitomo Mitsui and Mitsubishi.

I looked into the match and they offer a one time, one month introduction match.
mule96
Veteran

Post by mule96 »

Company DC:
- DC management Fees are paid by the company.
- Signficant higher limit (should be 55,000 JPY per month).
- Often limited selection of funds.

IDECO:
- Very competitive funds avaiable with the right broker selection
- Small ideco management Fees
- lower limit for company employees (23,000 JPY per month)

Maybe you can ask for the fund lineup for the company. If there are some passiv index funds avaiable (even if is not all world, eg developped countries), then company DC is the way go.