Tax Return - Rakuten Securities

Anything that doesn't fit in another forum
FIRE-Rookie
Regular

Tax Return - Rakuten Securities

Post by FIRE-Rookie »

Hey peeps,

I use Rakuten Securities to manage my portfolio and recently I have traded some shares in "General" account instead of the "Specific" account.

For those who don't know the difference.
General account means that Rakuten doesn't touch the tax money and I have apply for them myself.
Specific account means they offer tax-withholding service on your behalf.

I tried to call the Rakuten securities support and ask them to deduct the difference from my balance but they refused and told me that I have to apply for taxes for these stocks myself.

Newbie here since my employer always handled taxes from my salary directly. I know I still got like 10 months but I prefer to finish things off early. Anyone has an idea where to get the documents? how to prepare them in advance? When and how to submit them?

I don't feel like paying an accountant 10,000 yen for something that will potentially cost me 2,000 yen.

Thanks in advance!
Viralriver
Veteran

Re: Tax Return - Rakuten Securities

Post by Viralriver »

Just as a heads up, it'll cost a lot more than 10k. I'm going through this right now for last year's filing with an accountant and she's charging me around 60k. Albeit, this is for a tokutei rakuten account, furusato nouzei, mercari sales and a couple of other random things. I can't help much more than that right now.
Chris
Regular

Post by Chris »

You can do it online here: https://www.keisan.nta.go.jp/kyoutu/ky/sm/top#bsctrl

The E-Tax system is pretty easy to navigate and if you cannot read Japanese, Google Translate is your friend. You will need to follow the instructions to declare Capital Gains/Loss and Dividend income. (But if you have successfully navigated Rakuten-Sec's UI then E-Tax's UI should be a wakl in the park :lol: )